Print Page

Lifetime Achievement Award Winners


The Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor given by the Travel and Tourism Research Association. This award is presented at the ttra Annual International Conference to the individual or organization who has made a highly significant contribution to ttra as well as to the travel and tourism industry.  The recipient will receive a plaque, a ttra lifetime membership and a lifetime complimentary annual conference registration.
The award is based on significant, long-term contributions to the industry and/or ttra, including but not limited to: 
  • Outstanding Service;
  • Record of publication;
  • Professional activity including: Research methodologies, techniques and important positive outcomes for the industry, and/or Marketing concepts, techniques and important positive outcomes for the industry.


Year  Name Organization Affiliation at Award Presentation
2017 Dee Ann McKinney Missouri Division of Tourism
2016 Sheila Flanagan Dublin Institute Of Technology
2015 Rick Perdue Virginia Tech University
2014 Noel Sweeney Tourism & Transport Consult International
2013 Dan Fesenmaier Temple University School of Tourism and Hospitality Mgmt
2010 James Burke California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
2009 Pauline Sheldon University of Hawaii
2008 Scott Meis Scott M. Meis Research Associates
2004 Peter Williams Simon Frasier University
2003 Donald F. Holecek Michigan State University
2001 Clare Gunn Texas A & M University
2001 Earl E. Ditmars American Airlines
2000 John Markham Markham & Associates
1999 Suzanne D. Cook Travel Industry Association of America
1998 John D. Hunt University of Idaho
1997 Doug Frechtling George Washington University
1996 Rossi Ralenkotter Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority
1995 J.R. Brent Ritchie University of Calgary
1994 Gordon Taylor Tourism Canada
1992 Chuck Goeldner University of Colorado
1991 Marilou Wood University of Utah


travel & tourism
research association

5300 Lakewood Road
Whitehall, MI 49461
Phone: 248.708.8872     Fax: 248.814.7150
Copyright © 2012 Travel and Tourism Research Association
All rights reserved.
close (X)