Print Page

2016 Conference Award Winners

The ttra awards program was developed to encourage and recognize excellence in the field of travel and tourism research and marketing. Entrants are judged on quality, originality, creativity, usefulness, results and benefits to the travel and tourism industry. 

2016 Award Winners:


J. Desmond Slattery Graduate Student Research Award

Awarded Awarded to a master or doctoral student to assist with their thesis or dissertation.

Presented to Becky Liu for: Developing Effective Crisis Responses.



Keeling Dissertation Award

Awarded to a doctoral student for their completed thesis or dissertation.

Presented to Ye Zhang for: Self-Determined Travel Facilitation with Primed Mental Construal.



Charles R. Goeldner Article of Excellence Award

Awarded to recognize the most significant work in the Journal of Travel Research during 2015.

Presented to Sara Dolnicar, Tim Coltman, and Rajeec Sharma for: Do Satisfied Tourists Really Intend to Come Back? Three Concerns with Empirical Studies of the Link between Satisfaction and Behavioral Intention.




Travel Research Grant

Awarded to a junior researcher for the creative development of a research project, technique, or methodology.

Presented to Emily Ayscue for: Airbnb: Assessing Its Engagement and Sustainability in Athens, GA



Best Research Paper

Presented to Ye Zhang, Peter Ricci, Ed.D., and Anil Bilgihan, Ph.D. for: Agent-Based Modeling of Destination-Based Tourist Interactice Evolution


Best Visual Paper

Presented to Jason Stienmetz and Dan Fesenmaier for: Validating Volunteered Geographic Information:  Can We Really Trace Visitors Digital Footprints?


Best Graduate Colloquium Paper

Presented to Jennifer K. Young for: Non-Travel: The Role of Design in the Experience of Contemporary Travel


Chapter Achievement Award

Presented to the Asia-Pacific Chapter


travel & tourism
research association

5300 Lakewood Road
Whitehall, MI 49461
Phone: 248.708.8872     Fax: 248.814.7150
Copyright © 2012 Travel and Tourism Research Association
All rights reserved.
close (X)