Print Page

2017 Conference Award Winners

The ttra awards program was developed to encourage and recognize excellence in the field of travel and tourism research and marketing. Entrants are judged on quality, originality, creativity, usefulness, results and benefits to the travel and tourism industry. 

2017 Award Winners:


J. Desmond Slattery Graduate Student Research Award

Awarded Awarded to a master or doctoral student to assist with their thesis or dissertation.

Presented to Florian Kock, Ph.D. Candidate, Copenhagen Business School




Charles R. Goeldner Article of Excellence Award

Awarded to recognize the most significant work in the Journal of Travel Research during 2016.

Presented to Ding Du, Alan A. Lew, and Pin T. Ng (Northern Arizona University) for “Tourism and Economic Growth.”

This article was published in Volume 55, Issue no. 4.





Best Research Paper

Presented to Jason Stienmetz, University of Surrey for "Destination Value System Taxonomy for Smarter Tourism Management."




Best Visual Paper

Presented to Jyoti Sood, Deepak Chhabra, and Kathleen Andereck (Arizona State University) for "Sustainable Promotion of Homestay Tourism in the Remote Himalayas of India.”




Best Graduate Colloquium Paper

Presented to Yu-Hua (Melody) Xu, Jin-won Kim, and Lori Pennington-Gray (University of Florida) for "Exploring the Spatial Relationship between Airbnb Rental and Crime.”



Chapter Achievement Award

Presented to the SouthEast ttra Chapter



Distinguished Researcher Award

Presented to  Sara Dolnicar, Ph.D., The University of Queensland




Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to Dee Ann McKinney, Missouri Division of Tourism



travel & tourism
research association

5300 Lakewood Road
Whitehall, MI 49461
Phone: 248.708.8872     Fax: 248.814.7150
Copyright © 2012 Travel and Tourism Research Association
All rights reserved.
close (X)